Top 3 Wire Jewellery Tutorials for those who like to play on Master Difficulty

So far I’ve made two lists of my top 5 jewellery tutorials, one for beginner artists, and one for more experienced designers. Whilst going through my personal bookmark collection however, I came across a couple of tutorials that I saved, hoping that one day I’d be able to come back and create the wonderful jewellery they teach. Well, looking at them again now, I still like to think I’ll be able to make them one day… unfortunately, that day is a very, very long way off!

If you yourself are the kind of daring soul that loves a challenge, or likes to play through life on Master Difficulty, you’re more than welcome to try your hand at them. Do make sure you post your results in the comments though; I’d love to see if anyone can actually make these designs!

And so I present to you my –

Top 3 Jewellery Tutorials for those of you who like to play on Master!

1. Take your wire weaving to the next…ten levels!

perfectlytwistedjewelry

perfectlytwistedjewelry

Perfectlytwistedjewelry is a blog that features some of the most stunning wire jewellery I’ve ever seen, written by one of the most talented jewellery artists on the web. She recently released a step-by-step walk-through for one her most popular designs, and I admit that I did excitedly try to follow it myself… and failed miserably. Seriously, this isn’t a tutorial for the faint of heart. I can only imagine how much wire she must have wasted whilst perfecting her designs…

Don’t forget to check out the artist’s etsy shop, where you’ll be able to purchase some of the most intricate jewellery ever made my human hands.

2. Wirewrapped Faceted Gemstone Prong Ring

Gemstone Prong Ring

Gemstone Prong Ring

Master wire sculptor Preston Reuther says in the description that this ring is ‘very simple to make’. Indeed, if you watch his video tutorial, the time it takes him from start to finish is only 38minutes. Even so, I’m going to come out and say right now that this is absolutely not a very simple ring to make. Maybe if you hold the title ‘Master Wire Sculptor’ you can make this ring in under an hour, but for the rest of us it’d be a challenge to make a much cruder version in even a day.

Still, the video is worth a watch, if only to see a master wire worker at work. And it is a stunning ring. *sigh* Maybe one day I’ll be a master wire sculptor, and will be able to make a ring even half as beautiful as this one.

3. Anything by Nicole Hanna

nicolehanna

Nicole Hanna is another one of those jewellery artists who I hold a great deal of respect and admiration for. Whilst all of her tutorials are available on a paid basis only, I should expect they’ll be well worth it; just look at the incredible level of detail that goes into every aspect of her designs. If I can ever create a piece even half as intricate as Nicole Hanna’s work, I’ll be incredibly proud of myself. Go check out her work!

Well there you have it, my top 3 impossibly difficult wire jewellery tutorials. Can you guys think of any others? Post your links in the comments down below 🙂

Leave a Reply

